Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Tour of the Electromagnetic Spectrum

The electromagnetic spectrum is the range of all possible frequencies of electromagnetic radiation. The "electromagnetic spectrum" of an object has a different meaning, and is instead the characteristic distribution of electromagnetic radiation emitted or absorbed by that particular object.

The electromagnetic spectrum extends from below the low frequencies used for modern radio communication to gamma radiation at the short-wavelength (high-frequency) end, thereby covering wavelengths from thousands of kilometers down to a fraction of the size of an atom. The limit for long wavelengths is the size of the universe itself, while it is thought that the short wavelength limit is in the vicinity of the Planck length, although in principle the spectrum is infinite and continuous. (from

Video content in order
1. Introduction
2. Radio Waves
3. Microwaves
4. Infrared Waves
5. Visible Light Waves
6. Ultraviolet Waves
7. X-Rays
8. Gamma Waves

No comments:

Post a Comment